Keep An Open Mind And Seek Opportunities

Image

Good Morning All! Today is another Monday, which means back to a long and tedious five days before the weekend can come back again. I must admit that this weekend was fantastic, stressful, wonderful, crazy, lovely and busy all combined into a span of 48 hours. But, it was all well worth the time and energy.

Today, I am leaving at noon for my three-week work adventure and it hasn’t hit me that I will be away for so long. But, I know that things will work out and I am excited to start my trip with a group of wonderful people.

I wanted this post to be slightly laid back. I wanted to talk about seeking new opportunities and keeping an open mind. I think that these two concepts go hand-in-hand, and it’s important to grasp the significance of it.

This adventure is a risk. I will be away for three weeks. I will be busy from dawn until dusk in hot and sticky weather. My leadership skills will be put to the test. I need to take control of a group, help them through an important transition in their life, and become a role-model for them to look up to. It is a huge responsibility. But, that the great concept of an opportunity–You can either take it or leave it.

And, I wasn’t about to leave this opportunity for anyone to have. I wanted to reach for my goal, and now the experience will begin to unfold in front of me when I leave at noon. I know that some days will be challenging, but I am excited and blessed to have this opportunity.

Next, it’s important to keep an open mind when dealing with opportunities. There will always be pros and cons to the situation no matter what. But, it’s always better to focus on the strength in the positives, rather than dwell on the insignificant aspects of the negatives.

I choose to believe that seeking opportunities and maintaining an open mind about them is how we grow as individuals. It is vital that people learn to step out of their comfort zone and adapt to challenging situations. Not only will people gain confidence, but they will also gain a new sense of self.

It is amazing what people are capable of doing. Look at how far we have come in society in 2013. Now, we just need to keep the ambition going and take part in new challenges. So, my suggestion for you is to go out there and do something different.

Go skydiving, write a book, quit your terrible job, stand up for yourself, or travel to a different country: Anything that consists as an opportunity for you to better yourself. And, remember to keep an open mind along the way because you never know what other options might knock at your door.

And, only you will have the choice to decide whether or not you want to take it or leave it.

**Image searched through Google Images, Not my own**

Leave a Reply

