Fitness Tip: Interval Training

Good Afternoon! I hope everyone is enjoying the day so far. I decided that I need to get back into a solid workout routine before I leave and move back to school in a few days. So, I decided to write out a workout schedule for the week. I want to keep yoga in my routine, but I want to incorporate a new fitness workout: interval training.

As scary as it might sound, I can promise you that interval training is NOT as bad as it seems. There are various benefits for your body when you condition using interval training.

After reading nearly 20+ articles about interval training and how to properly and safely incorporate it into your daily workout routine, I decided that it would be a good topic to talk about with all of you and see your opinions on it.

So, what is interval training exactly?

Interval training is a type of conditioning workout which involves a series of low and high intensity exercise workouts. Running, for example, you would start with a simple, slow to moderate-paced jog for two minutes. After, you sprint hard for a minute and return to your slow to moderate-paced jog that you started with. That’s one cycle. Repeat the times about five or six times. The workout would last about 18-21 minutes long depending on what times you would use for your jog and sprint. I prefer to stick with 2-and-1 because it’s simple to keep track of.

Interval training is a great way to stay in shape. It’s beneficial because you’re continuously working out your body. But, allowing that one minute per cycle to push yourself the fastest you can possible run will speed up your metabolism and improve your workout overall. Also, interval training is considered more beneficial than regular cardiovascular training. Not to mention, this can be done with running, biking, swimming, hiking, any cardiovascular workout that you prefer. So, you have different options for your workout. And, you can always switch it up.

Yes, getting your heart rate up is the key. However, interval conditioning is a process where your body is constantly receiving that “challenge” factor, which allows us to push ourselves more. By doing this, you’re giving yourself a better workout that will affect your training altogether.

Image

This diagram is from Google Images (not my own) but I wanted to show you how it would be timed if you were to complete an interval training workout. I hope this helps to illustrate how to preform the conditioning during a running workout.

And, you don’t have to start with running. Just build it up. Start with walking for two minutes and jogging for a minute and return back to walking. You’ll eventually build up the stamina to run longer and faster. But, it takes time and effort! So, don’t give up too quickly: be patient.

I’ll be writing an updated fitness post later today to show you all what I plan to do when I return back to school. I want to update my workout schedule and diet plan to stay in shape throughout the year.

I hope you all enjoyed today’s post on interval training and the benefits that come with it. I hope you all enjoy the rest of your day, and, as always, I will talk to you all soon. Bye!

One thought on “Fitness Tip: Interval Training

  1. Pingback: Third set of interval training ~TJ53 | fatness to fitness, our journey

Leave a Reply

