A New Fitness Obsession: Pilates

Image

Hello Everyone! I hope you all are having an incredible week so far. I know that this week has been a little bit more hectic than normal because it is my first week back at classes, and I am trying to rearrange my schedule to fit my school activities and my own hobbies. But, thank you all for being understanding about my on-and-off postings the last two weeks.

Today, I wanted to write a health and fitness post on a new class that I have been interested in taking at school, but didn’t work up the courage to take until early this week. And, as you can probably tell from the title it’s: Pilates!

Okay, I know I always feel excited when I take on a new fitness class that I enjoy from the beginning. But, when I say that I might be obsessed with Pilates, I’m talking like get-this-girl-to-rehab-immediately obsessed.

One of the many aspects that I love about Pilates is the development of your abdominal muscles throughout the class. Pilates is heavily focused on core strength. It’s a necessary component to contort your body into awkward positions and use your abdominal muscles to hold those positions. You don’t realize how necessary your abdominal muscles are until you truly start to utilize them through Pilates.

Another aspect that I love about Pilates is the relaxing component, which reminds me of my yoga classes. Breathing and maintaining focus are two important aspects that you use during a class. Not only does this help maintain concentration, but also clams your mind throughout the process. Overall, the breathing technique assists in making you feel less overwhelmed about the workout, especially if it’s your first class.

Finally, although it may seem like a simple workout that everyone can do, Pilates is a true test of your control of your body. You are in control of the positions you adjust to in addition to keeping each section of your muscles completely engaged during the course of the exercise. And that will help your overall health, not just physical, but also mental and emotional.

There are other various benefits to Pilates, however these are a few of my favorites because they highlight the aspects that I want to work on the most for my health and fitness.

I hope you all enjoyed today’s fitness post on Pilates. I strongly suggest that you all give this workout a try because you will be impressed with how challenging but relaxing it is for your body. I personally love knowing when I am giving my body an overall conditioning workout that will benefit me in more ways than one. So, if you haven’t tried Pilates, take one class at a local gym. I dare you not to fall it love with it as much as I did.

I hope you all enjoy the rest of your day, and, as always, I will talk to you all soon. Bye!

Leave a Reply

