What I Learned From Writing In A Journal

Hello there! I finally returned to school today after a well-deserved but short midterm break. It was wonderful to take a long weekend trip back to Buffalo to see my family and my puppy Myia. Although I’m not prepared to begin my half week, I know it will feel good to get back to work.

Did I just admit that?

Anyway, I wanted to share a simple topic that I feel is important for anyone interested in journalism, creative writing, or if they want to improve their mental health. Writing in a journal on a daily or weekly basis can teach you a lot about yourself. I want to share what I learned about myself from keeping a journal.

1. I accomplish more goals:

Studies show that people who keep written records of their goals have a higher chance of completing them. For my own study, I created a list of 5 to 10 goals a month for five months. And, I found that all of the goals during that time. So, if you want to feel accomplished and productive, write your goals down and you will see positive results.

2. I learn what I care about most:

When I care about something, I think about it a lot. Naturally, I write down those specific things more frequently. For example, I write about possible internships that I could apply for. I realize the more I write something, they more I care about it because it’s on my mind. So, I focus on what I write down more frequently.

3. Creating Lists=My Lifeline:

I have an unhealthy amount of lists in my journal. I love lists and I live by them. I promise I’m not crazy, but I have a list for everything you can possible imagine regarding my future. It’s like MASH where you pick five place you want to live, five dream jobs, five husbands, etc. Well…not to that extend but you get the point. Creating a list is my way of sorting through my options and there’s not wrong with having a plan, a backup plan or a backup plan for your backup plan.

4. I’m TOO ambitious:

I have many goals that I hope to accomplish. And, there’s nothing wrong with that. But, I realized I can’t stretch myself too thin regarding my ambitions because I don’t want to create unrealistic goals and disappoint myself. I always said my most strongest quality is my work ethic but I know that it’s important to keep a good balance of work and time to relax.

5. I love to write:

What I learned most about writing a journal is that I love to write. It helps clear my mind if I’m stressed or I need to rant about the day. It shows that I chose the right major in journalism and mass communication and I’m thankful that I know I am pursuing a career that I’m passionate about.

I hope you all enjoyed today’s post on writing in a journal. If you don’t already have a journal, I suggest you try to keep one for a few months. You might be surprised what you learn about yourself. Even if you don’t learn anything, it’ll will be a great way to release any stress in your life. It’s a perfect (and cheap) form of therapy! I hope you all enjoy your day and, as always, I will talk to you all soon. Bye!

2 thoughts on “What I Learned From Writing In A Journal

    • I understand where you’re coming from because I was the same way. But, I realized that I could make lists for long-term purposes in addition to short-term purposes. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

