How to Deal: Makeup Organization

Hello there everyone and happy Christmas Eve. I cannot believe that tomorrow is Christmas. I feel like September through December flew by without warning. But, I am very excited to start a new year in 2014. Lets all hope it’s a wonderful year for everyone filled with great opportunities and adventures.

vibe-vixen-makeup-collectionFor the last few days, I have been on a HUGE organization kick in my house. I cleaned and organized random spots in my house (my makeup storage was one of them). So, I decided it would be nice to share a few tips on makeup organization for you all.

The best way I can describe organizing your makeup is DTDT, which stands for divide, tools, downsize and toss. This little acronym will help you if you’re looking to deal with organizing your makeup collection and storage.

Divide.

Everyone has their own way of organizing their items, so find what works best for you. dividing your makeup into different drawers works best, go for it. I recommend investing in  makeup trays with partitions to separate your cosmetics into categories. I try to group my makeup into “day” and “evening” sections within my organizers. When I get ready in the morning, I don’t struggle through my heavy makeup to find my neutral colors for the day time.

Tools.

It’s very important to store your tools properly. Not only will it help them last longer, but it will also help your skin if you are prone to breakouts. Keep your brushes clean and protected by storing them separately from your makeup. I recommend storing brushed in a jar, bristles up. DON’T forget to clean them every two weeks with baby shampoo.

Downsize.

You don’t need eight mascaras at a time. It might be nice to have, don’t get me wrong. But you’re not getting your money’s worth of each product if you use them on-and-off while using other products at the same time. Downsize your collection to keep your space simple, neat and clean. You’ll save yourself a lot of money, time and hassle.

Toss.

Make sure you always keep track of products that are no longer available to use for your face. You’ll clear a lot of space in your storage by throwing away non-useable items. I have a simple guideline for expiration dates that will help you know when it’s time to say goodbye to a certain product, which start the day you open them.

  • Powders and shadows: two years
  • Cream shadows: 12 to 18 months
  • Foundation: one year
  • lipstick & lip liner: one year
  • mascara & eyeliners: three months
  • makeup sponges: replace weekly

 

I hope these few tips help you all if you plan on reorganizing your makeup collection! I hope you all have a wonderful day and as always, I will talk to you all soon!

2 thoughts on “How to Deal: Makeup Organization

Leave a Reply

