How to Deal: Sick/Lazy Days + How to Make it Through!

SONY DSCHello there, everyone! I apologize for being M.I.A all week. I would love to say that my excuse is valid, but unfortunately, it’s not. I have been feeling sick this week and I tried to focus my attention on school, work and recovering. I’m happy to say with little activity this week, I am starting to feel somewhat better. Part of it was the change in weather and overworking myself the last month.

The inspiration for this post does reflect what’s going on in my life, but I wanted to share some of my sick/lazy day tips with you all. If you have been working hard lately and your immune system is starting to take an unhealthy toll, keep reading.

Tip 1: Take a Break from the Gym: Your body cannot repair if you keep pushing yourself to get to the gym. As much as I preach that working out is essential, a week-long break won’t hurt you if you’re overworked or sick. This will benefit your body, I promise. Schedule an extra day or two the following week. You’ll thank me for this one.

download

Tip 2: Fluids: You have heard this from your doctor, mother, grandmother, etc. Fluids are important when your body is sick or overworked. This will help flush out the toxins in your body and heal you faster. Of course water is the number one pick, but I also recommend tea if you need an extra boost to feel better. Even better, add some honey and lemon to your tea if you’re sick, this is my number one trick! Or, have chicken noodle soup broth. They are the old but good tricks.

Tip 3: Rest: Not just from the gym, but also during the day. If you can squeeze in a 20-minute long power nap during the day, take one. And go to bed earlier throughout the week. If you hit the hay at 11 p.m., aim for 9 p.m. for the week. An extra few hours will help a lot more than you think. Don’t over schedule yourself with meetings and appointments. Complete the necessary tasks for the week and focus on relaxing. It’s okay to be selfish for a week.

Tip 4: Productivity in increments: If you’re having a lazy day and you feel…blah, create a schedule that allows you an hour-long period of product work. Whether you are cleaning the house, running errands, reading assignments or writing a paper, set a timer and work on that project for one hour. After, you can allow yourself 30 minutes to relax. Read a book, take a nap, watch Netflix,  do whatever you’d like because you earned it. Repeat this process until your tasks are done. It’ll pass by a lot quicker than you think.

Tip 5: Sick/Lazy Day Dress: Yoga pants are my best friend when I’m not feeling well. I also like to dress in layers in case I’m hot or cold throughout the day. I’ll layer a compression shirt over a t-shirt and throw on a thick sweater. Here you can find a compression mock from Under Armour. Keep it simple and casual. Go for the sporty look. No one will even know you’ve skipped out on the gym that week!

I hope you all enjoyed today’s post on how to deal with sick or lazy days. If you’re feeling sick lately, feel better soon. And, for those who have been working too hard and need a break, take this weekend to relax and repair your body. Enjoy the rest of your day and I will talk to you all soon.

2 thoughts on “How to Deal: Sick/Lazy Days + How to Make it Through!

Leave a Reply

