Review and Comparison: tinted moisturizer vs. foundation

photoHello everyone and happy Tuesday. Today I want to share a review and comparison of two different skin products. The first product is the tinted moisturizer by Laura Mercier and the second product is the Estee Lauder Lucidity light-diffusing makeup.

I have used the lucidity product from Estee Lauder a few years ago in high school and I recently starting using it again when my mom found an extra bottle of mine from home. (Thanks mom!)

The tinted moisturizer is a new product for me, and Laura Mercier is a new brand for me, too.  This product blends skincare and makeup that hydrates skin and softens fine lines. It gives a ‘no-makeup’ look with a soft color that enhances the skin. Its formula provides protection from the sun with SPF 20 sunscreen.

Lucidity is contains special light-diffusing pigments, which reflect light away from fine lines and wrinkles while providing a light moisturizer and other skincare benefits.

I have to say that I don’t love the lucidity makeup as much as I did a few years ago. I find that I have to combine it with a BB or CC cream, so it won’t cake on my skin.

I don’t think the price is expensive, but I do think the price could be lowered. You can purchased this product for $37 here. (My shade is 04-Neutral Beige.) I think the product would sell more if the price were changed to $25.

I do love how well the product lasts on my face throughout the day. Also, I love how I don’t need to apply a concealer when I use this foundation. Those two qualities average out the negative aspects.

Overall, I give the Lucidity foundation a 3.5 out of 5. As much as I loved it back in the day, I need a light-weight formula that will allow my skin to breathe.

As for the tinted moisturizer, I didn’t have luck with this product. I found that I could only apply this with a F12_TM_USbrush, which is a negative for me because if I have a busy day, I need a product I can quickly apply with my fingers and move on. Also, it didn’t last long on my skin throughout the day. My face felt bare by 3 o’clock.

The one redeeming quality is that it have SPF 20 in it and will protect your skin from the sun.

This is the first product that I truly didn’t like, and it was my first time trying a tinted moisturizer. Not only is it expensive, purchase here for $43, but it didn’t help my skin the way I would have liked. So, what the overall review? I give the tinted moisturizer a 2 out of 5.

Although I’m disappointed about the two product reviews, at least I learned that I should stick to BB and CC creams from now on when it comes to daily makeup. What do you guys prefer for face makeup? Do you like classic foundation, tinted moisturizer, or BB/CC creams?

Leave a comment below telling me whether or not you have tried one of these two products before. I would love to hear your responses, especially if they’re positive!

I hope you all enjoy the rest of your day and as always, I will talk to you all soon.

2 thoughts on “Review and Comparison: tinted moisturizer vs. foundation

Leave a Reply

