More adventures in Italy

Hello everyone and happy Monday! As promised and per request by many of you, I’m going to share more photos of my adventures in Italy from the weekend. This weekend, I traveled to Florence, Siena, LaVerna and Cortona. I even gained the courage to go to the Amanda Knox house at night with some friends.

My day trip to Florence was for a class trip to the Galileo Museum, but we also visited the Uffizi Gallery. It was almost 100 degrees in Florence on Friday, so touring air-conditioned museums for a few hours was enjoyable. Photos left to right: A structure of how Aristotle and Ptolemy believed the universe looked, my favorite candy shop in Florence, A bottle of water with my name on it and my incredible lunch!

photo 1photo 4

photo 2photo 3

On Saturday, I visited Siena and got to see the beautiful views of the Duomo and climbed over 200 steps to a bridge that overlooked all of Siena. Needless to say, it was beautiful. For the rest of the day, we shopped and I participated in a demonstration of how a paper shops designs their products! Photos from left to right: inside the Duomo in Siena, a panoramic view from the top of the bridge, the paper demonstration and a view of the Duomo from the bridge.

photo 1 photo 3

photo 4 photo 5

Finally, I traveled to LaVerna and Cortona. LaVerna is significant to my university back home in New York, so the visit was to learn more about St. Francis, who is important to the foundation of St. Bonaventure University. For those who are familiar with the movie Under the Tuscan Sun, Cortona is where the movie was filmed. The sights are incredible! Photos from left to right: Where Francis received the stigmata in LaVerna, the rock cave where Francis slept in LaVerna, a church in Cortona and the panoramic view of Cortona.

photo 1 photo 2

photo 4 photo 5

I hope you enjoyed more pictures of my adventures here in Italy. In only two weeks, I’ll be home from this amazing experience. Enjoy the rest of your day and I will talk to you all Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

