My Favorite Italian Dishes

photo 4 3.49.19 AMHello everyone and happy Friday! Some of you wanted to see what traditional Italian dishes I’ve been eating and enjoying while studying abroad. Thank you for all of the messages on Twittier. I truly appreciate it. Make sure to tweet me @BlissBrunette to tell me what your favorite traditional Italian dishes are!

Prosciutto e melone: I know you’re thinking, Kiara…why would you ever eat meat and fruit together? But I promise you once you try it, you’ll never want to have anything else here in Italy. It’s a staple served almost everywhere and the combination of salty from the meat and sweet from the fruit is incredible. This is, without a doubt, my favorite dish from Italy.photo 3 3.49.22 AM

Caprese: Another staple dish served almost anywhere in Italy. If you like simple and delicious, this is a meal for you. Its three ingredients: tomatoes, mozzarella and basil create a perfect taste when added together. Make sure to add a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar for extra flavor. If you find that the Caprese has mozzarella di bufala, you must try it!

photo 2 2.33.21 PMRisotto ai frutti di mare: This meal was stepping way out of my comfort zone when I mentioned it last week in my “What I Ate” post, but I’m thankful I ordered it because it is another favorite of mine. What’s great is that you always receive a great portion of seafood (mussels, squid, crayfish, shrimp, clams and more) and risotto for an inexpensive price. For those looking to enjoy the Italian cuisine without breaking the back, this meal is for you.photo 1 3.49.13 AM

Cappuccino: I know it’s not a meal, but it’s an everyday (or twice a day) necessity. The bulk of my money has been spent on cappuccinos, and I don’t regret it. Just make sure to order a cornetto on the side for breakfast.

What are some of your favorite traditional Italian meals? Leave a comment below or tweet me @BlissBrunette! I hope you all enjoy the weekend and I will talk to you all Monday.

Leave a Reply

