How to: Wash your hair [the right way]

BB6815

I know what you’re thinking, “I already know how to wash my hair.” You might, but there is always room for improvement in the beauty world. Who knows, maybe you’ll learn something new about hair care, or you can teach a friend about these tips. If you’re looking to add some bliss to your roots, read these tips:

Wash your hair with cool water:

We all love and appreciate hot showers, but hot water damages your hair. It strips your hair of necessary moisture and oils, and increases your chance of split ends. If you can manage standing under a cool shower for five minutes, your hair will thank you.

Be mindful of how much shampoo you use:

The truth is, most of us way more shampoo than is necessary for a wash; and we wash too often. In reality, you should wash your hair every other day or every few days with only a quarter-sized amount of shampoo. This will help keep the natural oils healthy and clean.

Only lather shampoo at your scalp:

Why? Because you only need to shampoo the hair at the scalp. The best way to lather up is at your roots. The hair closest to the scalp is the youngest and most likely the oiliest, whereas the ends of your hair is the oldest and most likely the driest.

Apply conditioner wisely:

You only need conditioner at the ends of your hair. Don’t condition near the roots (for the same reason above). Your roots are naturally more oily, which means your ends need more love. Apply conditioner halfway down your hair to the tips. Leave in for two minutes and rinse.

Be mindful about how you dry your hair:

Stay away from hot tools as often as possible. They cause damage and breakage to your hair. Also, don’t be too quick to put your hair in a towel. This tugs and pulls on your hair (also causing damage). Instead, wrap your hair in a big cotton T-shirt.

Have you been washing your hair the right way? If not, what do you plan to improve on? Make sure to leave a comment below!

Ki Signature

12 thoughts on “How to: Wash your hair [the right way]

  1. I’ve been working on washing my hair every other day, sometimes every three days and I have noticed a difference. I still can’t manage to wash it with cold water, but I always rinse it with cold water right before I get out to help seal it. I also let it air dry most of the morning and then do a quick blow out for some volume with cool air! It’s been working for me!

    • Yes! That’s awesome. I have the same routine as you (every other day but with cold water) but I do let me hair air dry (mostly because my lazy…to be honest) That’s great you have a routine down that works for you and that’s healthy. Thanks so much for your comment!

  2. The last point is the one I need to follow. I have such thick hair a T Shirt doesn’t seem like it could do the trick, but I need to try!!

    • I definitely thought the same with my thick, curly hair. It doesn’t dry it fully, but it helps soak up most of the dampness before you apply any hair products. I always let my hair dry naturally afterwards. Thanks so much for your comment.

  3. Love these tips! I never knew about the cotton t-shirt. I will have to give that a try sometime! I have really long hair and it gets tangled easily so I have to say that sometimes I may go a little overboard on the conditioner. I do try to keep it away from my roots, though!

    • I think we are in the same boat. I always used to load up on conditioner when I showered. Now, I realized it makes me hair limp and lifeless. It’s best to use a small amount and apply thoroughly. Thanks so much for your comment!

Leave a Reply

