The number doesn’t matter [on your clothes]

BB61015

Sometimes, I feel inspired to write something when I’m in the moment, and I’ve decided this is something I need to talk about because people shouldn’t have to struggle with this problem.

How often do we get mad at ourselves when we change sizes? A little back story: from high school to my second year of college, I have been a consistent size 2 (sometimes a 4). After going on birth control, I gained weight and noticed I have more curves. I still fit into clothes that are a size 2 or 4, but I have to occasionally buy jeans or slim-fit pants in a size 6.

Needless to say, I was infuriated with myself. But why? It’s not like I can’t fit into any of my clothes in my closet. I just needed a larger size on two different occasions. That didn’t change my anger.

I want to talk about this because I know many people who change a size (they might not even gain a lot of weight) and they hate themselves. We shouldn’t feel pressured to stay the same size for the rest of our lives. Do we really think we are going to magically weigh 125 pounds and stay a size 2 forever? For some people, of course, this might be the case; but for the majority, it isn’t likely.

BUT THAT’S OKAY.

It’s okay you aren’t the same size from age 16 to age 25. Our bodies change. Clothing material is made different, which is why you’re one size at one store but a different size at another store. We need to stop worrying about numbers and worry about how we feel. Do you feel beautiful and confident in the clothes you’re wearing? If yes, great and if you don’t then try changing how you dress.

If you notice you have gained a little weight, don’t beat yourself up. You’re human and we are all imperfect. We need to remember that we aren’t living to be a certain size. You don’t deserve to add unnecessary stress in your life.

Remember that you’re beautiful regardless of your jean size or dress size. Beautiful people come in all shapes and sizes, and we should celebrate that—instead of putting ourselves down.

Do you struggle with changing clothing sizes? Make sure to leave your comments and thoughts below!

Ki Signature

 

18 thoughts on “The number doesn’t matter [on your clothes]

  1. My goodness, you are still so tiny. I have struggled with changing sizes over the years–6 pregnancies and babies really change your shape and size, over and over and over again!–and I’ve learned to just relax about it. I am about the same size that I was in high school, but not the same shape. I try to exercise and watch what I eat, but I don’t feel pressure to look like an 18 year-old. So grateful for this heart-shift!

    • Thanks so much for your comment, it definitely means a lot. I think it’s more about how I felt knowing I wasn’t the same size when I was a teenager. Yes, it can be upsetting, but it shouldn’t because we shouldn’t feel pressured to stay one size forever. Our bodies grow. it’s great to know there are other people who understand this. Thank you!

  2. I’ve definitely struggled with this over the past few years, combination of BCP and hitting my mid-20s metabolism slow down (yikes) I try to remember that I’m active and eat well, and it doesn’t really matter that I’m no longer a size 2 (because I don’t know if I’d like to be anyway… Curves are kind of bad ass)
    great post. positive message!
    http://www.cookwineandthinker.com

  3. This is SUCH a good post. I’m going to have to share. I’ve struggled with this a lot lately, and now with being pregnant….I really have to get over “myself” and my size. 🙂

    • Being a different size at any stage of life is challenging. I think we get into a mindset that our body has to fit certain requirements, and that’s not the case. We should allow our bodies to grow healthy. If we are working out regularly and eating well–then it’s perfectly fine to be any size.

  4. Thanks for writing this post – it’s been on my mind too! Throughout college, I was also always a 2 or 4. Now, I can still wear most of the same clothes, but my jeans are all a bit too tight, and I had to get a couple new pairs. For the most part, I’ve been very accepting of the change – I’m a woman! My body is going to change all throughout my life! Every now and then, though, I can’t help but mourn that my little college body is gone. But like Laura said, curves are kind of badass and I love that my boobs have filled out more! It’s so important to follow your body’s changes with a positive outlook. Again, great reminder for me. Thanks for the commonality I found in this post 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I’m so glad to hear that you can relate. To be honest, I was worried writing this post thinking people wouldn’t experience this. And I’m so overwhelmed with happiness that people can understand where I’m coming from, but realize that they are human and change it okay. Glad we are so similar in this way. Thanks again for your comment!

  5. It’s always tough when my clothing size changes. My body has changed shapes a lot in the past years and each time it’s hard to adjust. Pant size can change for more reasons than just gaining weight and that’s important to remember (I’m thinking of the time I suddenly gained hips. LOL).

  6. I don’t think it’s worth it to worry about clothing sizes at all. There’s no standard. As I’ve been around the world, I’ve bought clothes that fit in a size 00 all the way up to size 9, from a size XXS to a size M. This is why I don’t buy anything without trying it on! Wearing clothes that fit well is way more important that wearing a certain number.

Leave a Reply

